Decalogue. What the 10 Commandments Really Say


Moses received 10 commandments that the nation of Israel was to fulfill. The 10 commandments were part of the Mosaic Law. The Mosaic Law, depending on how we count, had between 400 and over 600 rules. This discrepancy is due to the fact that there were positive and negative laws in force when the temple was standing.
The second commandment of the Decalogue clearly indicates that the 10 commandments were addressed to the nation of Israel. It talks about God: YHWH. In the New Testament there is no description of the actions of God YHWH, this role was taken over by Christ, Whom they called: Yeshu-Yesu.
What law applies to us today?

Commandment of Love:

“The commandments, Do not commit adultery; do not murder; do not steal; do not covet; and any other commandment, are summed up by this commandment: Love your neighbor as yourself.” – Romans 13:9.

He said to him, “Love the Lord your God with all your heart, with all your soul, and with all your mind. This is the greatest and most important command. The second is like it: Love your neighbor as yourself. All the Law and the Prophets depend on these two commands.” – Matthew 22:36-40.

The command to believe in the name of Christ:

“Now this is His command: that we believe in the name of His Son, Yeshu Christ, and love one another as He commanded us.” – 1 John 3:23.

The command to take part in the Remembrance of Christ’s Death:

“So Yeshu said to them,Truly I tell you, unless you eat the Flesh of the Son of Man and drink His Blood, you do not have life in yourselves. The one who eats My Flesh and drinks My Blood has eternal life, and I will raise Him up on the last day, because My flesh is true food and My Blood is true drink. The one who eats My Flesh and drinks My Blood remains in Me, and I in him. Just as the living Father sent Me and I live because of the Father, so the one who feeds on Me will live because of Me. This is the Bread that came down from heaven; it is not like the manna your ancestors ate — and they died. The one who eats this Bread will live forever.” – John 6:53-58.

10 commandments according to the Catholic Church:
 1. You shall have no other gods before Me.
 2. You shall not take the name of the Lord your God in vain.
 3. Remember to keep the day holy.
 4. Honor your father and your mother.
 5. Thou shalt not kill.
 6. Do not commit adultery.
 7. Don't steal.
 8. Do not bear false witness against your neighbor.
 9. Do not covet your neighbor's wife.
 10. Nor any thing that is his.

There is a problem with these commandments. After the usual verification that a primary school child might do, it turns out that someone has stolen one commandment.
The correct 10 commandments:

“1. Do not have other gods besides Me.

2.Do not make an idol for yourself, whether in the shape of anything in the heavens above or on the earth below or in the waters under the earth. Do not bow in worship to them, and do not serve them; for I, the Lord your God, am a jealous God, bringing the consequences of the fathers’ iniquity on the children to the third and fourth generations of those who hate Me, but showing faithful love to a thousand generations of those who love Me and keep My commands.

3.Do not misuse the Name of the Lord your God, because the Lord will not leave anyone unpunished who misuses His Name.

4.Remember the Sabbath day, to keep it holy: You are to labor six days and do all your work, but the seventh day is a Sabbath to the Lord your God. You must not do any work — you, your son or daughter, your male or female servant, your livestock, or the resident alien who is within your city gates. For the Lord made the heavens and the earth, the sea, and everything in them in six days; then He rested on the seventh day. Therefore the Lord blessed the Sabbath day and declared it holy.

5. Honor your father and your mother so that you may have a long life in the land that the Lord your God is giving you.

6. Do not murder.

7. Do not commit adultery.

8. Do not steal.

9. Do not give false testimony against your neighbor.

10. Do not covet your neighbor’s house. Do not covet your neighbor’s wife, his male or female servant, his ox or donkey, or anything that belongs to your neighbor.” – Exodus 20:3-17

The Catholic Church has completely omitted the second commandment
In order to keep the 10 commandments of the Catholic Church, 
it divided the tenth point into two commandments.
Why did the Catholic Church omit such an important commandment, which is the prohibition of praying to God the Father and His Son using images, medallions, crosses, rosaries?

This is a very important commandment:

Do not make an idol for yourself, whether in the shape of anything in the heavens above or on the earth below or in the waters under the earth. Do not bow in worship to them, and do not serve them.”

In other words, you must not use any items that are used for religious cults when praying.

How then can we explain the fact that God commanded the making of statues of Cherubim, and Solomon made two huge statues of Cherubim in the temple in God’s name?
The explanation is quite simple.
If anyone prayed to these Cherubim, he would be sinning, it would be idolatry. The cherubim served only as decoration.
The same applies to images/photos of, for example, parents or children. You hang them on the wall. Nobody cares. However, notice that you do not kneel before an image of a person or child and pray to them. If you did that, it would be a big sin.
Let us recall the example of the serpent to which the Israelites bowed. This example is given by people praying to images/through images to God.
God condemned bowing to the serpent and ordered it to be destroyed.

Author: Robert Brzoza

Translator: Hubert Brzoza

Przeczytaj koniecznie:

Napisz swoje zdanie...

Dodaj komentarz

Twój adres email nie zostanie opublikowany. Pola, których wypełnienie jest wymagane, są oznaczone symbolem *